Downgrade your iCloud storage

If you have more space in iCloud than you need, you can downgrade your storage plan.


What happens when you decrease your storage plan

When you downgrade your iCloud storage plan, the storage decrease takes effect after your current monthly or annual subscription ends.

If you downgrade or cancel your storage plan and the content that you’re storing in iCloud exceeds your available storage, new photos and videos won’t upload to iCloud Photo Library, files will no longer upload in iCloud Drive, and your iOS devices will stop backing up. Learn how to manage your storage by deleting backups, documents, photos, and email messages that you don’t need anymore.

If you downgrade to the free plan, you'll have 5GB of storage.


Downgrade your iCloud storage from any device

You can decrease your iCloud storage plan from your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac, or PC. Just follow these quick steps.

IPHONE, IPAD, OR IPOD TOUCH

  1. Go to Settings > [your name] > iCloud > Manage Storage or iCloud Storage. If you're using iOS 10.2 or earlier, go to Settings > iCloud > Storage.
  2. Tap Change Storage Plan.
  3. Tap Downgrade Options and enter your Apple ID password.
  4. Choose a different plan.
  5. Tap Done.

 

MAC

  1. Choose Apple () menu > System Preferences, then click iCloud.
  2. Click Manage in the lower-right corner.
  3. Click Change Storage Plan in the upper-right corner.
  4. Click Downgrade Options.
  5. Enter your Apple ID password, then click Manage.
  6. Choose a different plan.
  7. Click Done.

 

WINDOWS PC

  1. Open iCloud for Windows.
  2. Click Storage.
  3. Click Change Storage Plan.
  4. Click Downgrade Options.
  5. Enter your Apple ID password, then click Manage.
  6. Choose a different plan.
  7. Click Done.